Best Music, to my ears

December 31, 2009

At the end of each year, we’re bombarded with a multitude of best-of lists; movies, books, crazy celebrities, news stories (half of which are on both the crazy celebrity as well as the top news story lists). I can certainly do without the celebrity gossip but I’m a big music fan. But alas, I can never quite find the one list that matches all my own personal favorites. To remedy that, here’s my first very own Favorite Albums of 2009 List. Hope you find some of yours on here too, or discover some new things you might like:

Bill Callahan
Sometimes I wish we were an eagle” (Drag City)

Lightning Dust
Infinite Light” (Jagjaguwar)

Phosphorescent
To Willie” (Dead Oceans)

Various Artists
Dark was the Night” (4AD)

Devendra Banhart
What will we be” (Warner)

Whitetree
Cloudland” (Harmonia Mundi)

Atlas Sound
Logos” (Kranky)

Here We Go Magic
Here We Go Magic” (Western Vinyl)

Cass McCombs
Catacombs” (Domino)

Little Dragon
Machine Dreams” (Peacefrog)

On another note, Olive offered me this perfectly olive-coloured cowl neck warmer she made. In return, I’ll make her some mix tapes, so she can sample the musical discoveries above. Wool warmth = musical warmth.

Happy New Year, everybody!

fresh from my local chilean bakery, to share with the family tomorrow at lunch.

2 Responses to “Best Music, to my ears”

  1. Leigh Says:

    Super post Ada. The cowl looks great!

  2. ada Says:

    I forgot one more album:
    “Other Lives” by Other Lives (MapleMusic)


Leave a Reply

